Support

students

Resources & Useful links

A great place to start is our Jargon Buster, which explains the terms and acronyms you may use in conversations with young people about further and higher education.

Further Education

UCAS Further Education Support - https://www.ucas.com/further-education 

The Right Fit videos - videos which explore school subjects and the careers around them - https://www.studyhigher.ac.uk/video-resources

Apprenticeships 

gov.uk apprenticeship resources for teachers and practitioners - https://www.gov.uk/guidance/apprenticeships-resources-for-teachers-and-advisers

Get In, Go Far Apprenticeship Information - https://www.getingofar.gov.uk/teachers

Higher Education/UCAS Support 

Key UCAS Dates - https://www.ucas.com/advisers/managing-applications/application-deadlines

LinkingLondon Reference Writing Helpsheet (PDF)

Preparing for a University Interview (PDF)

Student Finance

Student Loans Company Practicioners Resources - https://www.practitioners.slc.co.uk/ 

Student Finance Youtube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/user/SFEFILM 

Martin Lewis: Student Loans Myth Busting - https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/students/student-loans-tuition-fees-changes/ 

Supporting Students

Supporting Care Leavers in Further & Higher Education

Blog: How to prepare students with the transition to university - https://www.unitasterdays.com/university-tips/tip/133/how-to-prepare-students-with-the-transition-to-university 

Careers Support

Identify Transferrable Skills worksheet

Career Camel: careers advice and tools - http://www.careercamel.com/

The Sutton Trust - improving social mobility through education - https://www.suttontrust.com/

Total Professions - resources for teachers and advisors - http://www.totalprofessions.com/home

Teacher CPD 

Advancing Access Teacher CPD Resources - https://www.advancingaccess.ac.uk/cpd-resources

Testimonials

“I have learned more about myself and the opportunities ahead of me"

- People Like Me Workshop

“Everyone is supportive and the staff are very friendly”

- Project Dare Workshop

“Thanks for the interesting talk. I’ll be using your positive thinking strategies in my exams.”

- Exam Prep Workshop

"NCOP have been amazing to work with and we can't thank them enough for offering this additional support for young people. This has and will most certainly support them in their ideas and choices to access further education. The support, communication and dedication from the NCOP team has been second to none and we are so grateful of what they can offer/support young people with in terms of further education."

"the NCOP programme (and especially the team I have had the privilege of working with) has been a huge advantage to our school. I am very happy with their aims and ethos and they are consistent, organised and enthusiastic in their delivery."

"I experienced first hand at least one student overcome their insecurity and was able to fully engage in an activity led by a NCOP Outreach Assistant"

"Many students who came here (a University campus) today did not see university as an option but now feel confident that this is possible."